CouchConf

Well, it has been quite some time since I had attended a technical conference.  Cost (due to self funding) and/or Location is the main culprit.  Looking forward to Pycon 2012 at Santa Clara though.

Digressing, this past Friday (July 29th) attended CouchConf at the Bently Reserve in San Francisco.  I am a casual user of Couchdb, I am always interested in data technologies, storing and using large quantity of information and the challenges associated with it, new technologies and products attempting to solve them are always in my radar.

Conference itself was quite compact, sessions were of good quality, except for the very first one I attended, I chose a session track for a beginner, learning level.  The highlights were seeing Damien Katz and D. Richard Hipp, these super hackers are humble, down to earth, matching my prior experiences of meeting/seeing similar people.

I watched the introduction to UnQL with mild amusement, feels closer due to my long history with relational dbmses.

I learned that this the very first CouchConf and fits with my other firsts as attending the first Apachecon (2000) and the first Lua Workshop (2005).  All of them were wonderful.

May you do good and not evil
May you find forgiveness for yourself and forgive others
May you share freely, never taking more than you give

– SQLite blessing

Leave a Reply

