Tide

Well the tide has turned, now my 13 year old son is recommending books.  He wanted me to read Alan Moore’s classics Watchmen and V for Vendetta. But my old eyes failed me, could not read the bubble texts, so politely declined.

Then after couple of weeks, he suggested Maus I, well I got hooked, in particular the animals Art Spiegelman had chosen to appropriately caricature various nationalities/races is quite interesting.  A pragmatic, heart felt tale of his father surviving the nazi and fellow human atrocities, but the author at times comes out as a jerk, I suppose all sons are at one time or the other with their fathers.  Looking at the zeal at which I finished the first book, he checked out Maus II and handed out to me the next week.

Leave a Reply

